Selecting a language will automatically trigger the translation of the page content.

Roadworthiness tests for heavy goods vehicles

Verified 16 March 2021 - Directorate for Legal and Administrative Information (Prime Minister)

Roadworthiness tests are mandatory for heavy goods vehicles. It must be carried out once a year and every 6 months for coaches. Several types of transport are involved (goods, persons, agricultural, sanitary, etc.). Specialized vehicles are involved regardless of their weight (transport of dangerous goods, breakdown services, training in driving, etc.). The inspection shall be carried out in an approved center for heavy goods vehicles at the initiative of the owner of the vehicle and at his own expense.

Based on weight

A truck is a truck more than 3,5 tons (PTAC: titleContent).

All trucks are involved in roadworthiness testing.

Depending on the type of transport

Other types of transport are involved whatever their weight :

  • Agricultural tractors
  • Sanitary transport
  • Transport of dangerous goods
  • Driving learning vehicles
  • Recovery vehicles
  • Public Transit (TCP)
List of specific categories of vehicles

The specific categories of vehicles concerned by roadworthiness tests are:

  • Road tractors (TRR), irrespective of the PTAC
  • Trucks (CAM)
  • Front-wheel semi-trailers (FRT)
  • Road Semi-trailers (SREM)
  • Road Trailers (REM)
  • Semi-trailers for combined transport (SRTC)
  • Combined transport trailers (RETC)
  • Specialized motor vehicles (SPV)
  • Specialized Semi-Trailers (SRSP)
  • Specialized trailers (RESP)
  • Passenger Transit Vehicles (PTC)
  • Pickup trucks (PSTC) used in public passenger transportation
  • Vehicles used in the transport of dangerous goods and having a certificate of approval (all types and irrespective of the TCCA)

Please note

vehicles with a W certificate (garage card) are exempt from technical inspection.

You must perform the roadworthiness test of your vehicle Once a year.


the deadline is 6 months for vehicles of TCP: titleContent (buses).


You may be subject to a ticket if you fail to show your vehicle for roadworthiness tests within the mandatory time limit:

  • For a (natural) person, the fine is €750.
  • For a business (legal person), the fine is €3,750.

Immobilization and impounding are also possible sanctions.

You have to do the roadworthiness test at a special center, called approved centre, which has a specific authorization for heavy goods vehicles.

Sign identifying an approved roadworthiness center for heavy goods vehicles - plus de détails dans le texte suivant l’infographie

Each approved center shall have the following logo:

The list of approved centers for the roadworthiness testing of heavy goods vehicles is available on the UTAC website:

You must prepare the following documents before going to the roadworthiness test:

  • Carte grise (henceforth called certificate of registration)
  • Description and certificate of conformity of the vehicle or a copy thereof
  • Isolated report of receipt
  • In the case of a counter-inspection, unfavorable report of the periodic roadworthiness test
  • For special-purpose vehicles, intended driving authorization
  • For TCP: titleContent and dangerous goods transport, certificate of verification of the speed limitation system less than 1 year old
  • For TCPs, EAD installation certificate and last EAD verification certificate from 2e installation year
  • In the case of a change of fuel, attestation of the lodging of an isolated energy source change type-approval dossier, less than one year old

The roadworthiness test shall be a visual inspection of the vehicle.

The controller checks a specified number of vehicle functions, called checkpoints.

It notes defects, called failure points, which must be repaired at a garage.

The inspection is carried out without dismantling.

Any repair is prohibited in the control center.


the state of cleanliness of the vehicle must be sufficient to permit visual and auditory examination.

What are the points checked?

The check shall verify 157 checkpoints.

In total, they can reveal 734 defects.

569 defects shall be subject to counter-visit.

What are the failure levels?

Defects are classified into 3 main categories:

  1. Minor failure : no counter-visit. The vehicle can run. Repairs are however recommended.
  2. Major Failure : mandatory counter-inspection within 2 months. The vehicle can run.
  3. Critical Failure : the vehicle is no-ride from midnight after the check. A counter-visit is mandatory within 2 months.

Examples of failures:

  • Minor: tire friction on wheel guards (bibs)
  • Major: no operation or absence of windshield wipers and windshield washer
  • Critical: stop lamps not working


The report shall be the summary of the inspection.

It is given to the owner of the vehicle.

That's proof that the check was done.

It shall include the following information:

  • Points of failure
  • Repairs to be carried out or recommended with or without a mandatory counter-visit
  • Final result of the test, whether favorable or not with a driving ban or permission

The authorized center shall keep a copy of it for 2 years.


Carte grise The stamp is put on the

It shall indicate the registration number of the vehicle, the date of the inspection carried out and its period of validity.


If the check is favorable, the controller shall place a sticker on the windshield of the vehicle.

It shall indicate the date of the next roadworthiness test.

It's not official proof of control.

If you wish to challenge the inspection, you can resolve the problem by means of an amicable appeal either to the center which carried out the technical inspection or to the network to which the approved center is attached.

Then, you can use a recourse either to the departmental directorate of population protection (in the prefecture) or to the court of law.

Who shall I contact